The Ridgeway C.E. Primary School


In the Foundation stage we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). Within the EYFS there are seven areas of learning and development. Three Prime areas and four specific areas.

Three Prime Areas

• communication and language

• physical development

• personal, social and emotional development

Four Specific Areas

 • literacy

• mathematics

• understanding the world

• expressive arts and design

Children access these areas through a mix of play based adult-led and child-initiated activities, both indoors and outdoors. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others.

EYFS Long Term Plan 

Our Phonics teaching is through Twinkl Phonics, and we use their matched reading scheme.  

Twinkl Phonics  

Useful Resources 

 Oxfordshire 50 things to do before you are 5